We do not receive the Gifts of the Holy Spirit. No, what we receive is the Spirit who helps us make such choices.

Sunday, 12/8/13

The spirit of the Lord will rest upon him: a spirit of wisdom and of understanding, a spirit of counsel and fortitude, a spirit of knowledge and fear of the Lord. And his delight shall be fear of the Lord.”

In 700 B.C. Isaiah foresaw that spirit coming upon the Christ, and Christians see that Spirit leading them to good choices.

Our Church has a weakness for packaging things in sevens. We have seven Sacraments, seven Spiritual and Corporal works of Mercy, seven Capital Sins. And so, to the six virtues Isaiah predicated of the Messiah, the Church needed to insert Piety to bring the Gifts of the Holy Spirit up to seven.

I had thought I received the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit as Confirmation presents. I thought they came with the white rosary and the little white prayer book. But we do not receive those virtues, tied with a bow. No, our true Confirmation gift, as it was with Christ, is having the Spirit rest upon us.

We are all called upon to make perhaps a hundred decisions a day. The Holy Spirit himself is the gift who leads us to make choices in accord with his gifts.

By Wisdom we choose what will bring happiness in the long run.
By Understanding, we search out reasons for the actions of others.
By Counsel we are opened to listening to the ideas of others.
By the gift of Fortitude we stay to the end with worthwhile tasks.
By Knowledge we seek the truth by which right choices are made.
By Piety we are true to our family and to Mother Church.
By Fear of the Lord we behave well because God is always with us.

Knowing he is always with us is our greatest delight.

No comments:

Post a Comment